The Year of the Flood

The Year of the Flood“The times and species have been changing at a rapid rate, and the social compact is wearing as thin as environmental stability. Adam One, the kindly leader of the God’s Gardeners, a religion devoted to the melding of science and religion, as well as the preservation of all plant and animal life, has long predicted a natural disaster that will alter Earth as we know it. Now it has occurred, obliterating most human life…By turns dark, tender, violent, thoughtful, and uneasily hilarious, The Year of the Flood is Atwood at her most brilliant and inventive.”

The next instalment of what has now been coined, ‘The MaddAddam Trilogy,’ The Year of the Flood is a compelling and heart-stopping exploration of the post-apocalyptic world first introduced in Oryx and Crake. Raising the same big (and very relevant) questions about what makes us human and how to face the pressing issues of survival and the destruction of the planet, Atwood leads her readers on a  journey through her stark and often terrifying world through the eyes of a two surviving women. Rather than a sequel, this book tells a somewhat parallel story to the first novel. Another excellent read by an excellent author.
Can’t wait to read Madd Addam!MA


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s